White sugar (and some brown sugar) produced from sugar cane may be refined using bone char by a few sugar cane refiners.For this reason white sugar from sugar cane may not be vegan. Beet sugar has never been processed with bone char and is vegan.
This is what you typically find in your sugar bowl.
- It’s the most common sugar called for in recipes when cooking and baking.
- “Regular” sugar granules are fine because small crystals are ideal for bulk handling and not susceptible to caking.